Wheel lust…

It’s no big secret that I have been lusting after a wheel for a good long time now. Sure sure, I love my spindle… it’s gorgeous and spins like a dream. BUT if I am short on anything in this lifetime, it is TIME. So, while I may love giving it a whorl every now and again, it just doesn’t quite quench the fiber thirst. ya know?! While waiting to order my Louet S51DT to be ordered (and then delivered)… I am building up my very own fiber stash. You saw the Koi BFL from the earlier post? Well, I’ve been busily dyeing up a ton of fiber for the next store update. (no, I’m not telling you when here… you’ll have to keep up on the mailing list. πŸ˜‰ ) Look. at. this. I am in loooooooooove:

Meet “String Theory”. I adore hir. This is a hair πŸ˜‰ shy of 7 ounces BFL silver… and while I had planned on selling the top, I just can’t part with it. And these photos don’t even come close to the amazing depth of color that is the real thing! This little silver has made me a teeny tiny bit afraid of the looming new “collection”… fiber. Currently, I only have about a pound of personal stash. A few more like this, and I’ll be drowing in fiber AND yarn! Speaking of fibery goodness… tomorrow my good buddy (not really) the FedEx man will bring to me many many pounds of new spinning fibers. Did you say bamboo? tencel? πŸ˜€

Knitting updates:
Remember the monkey socks? Here they are as of 2 nights ago:

Yep. I frogged the little monkeys! As I was almost finished up with the foot it became clearer and clearer that I would not have enough yarn to finish another sock. How did I manage such a giant snafu? Didn’t I read the instructions… didn’t I have 4 oz of yarn?! Well, yes, and no. This yarn is sport weight… so I dimly carried on with the pattern, assured that I got 8 stitches per inch on size 1s… but failed to take into account that my yarn will go much less further with the tighter fabric. (d’oh!) Oh sure, sure… I suppose you’ll just remind me kindly that I have an “in” with the yarn supplier for these puppies. Yeah… but… I have lots more yarn that needs attention.. what kind of yarn care provider would I be to neglect the other thousand skeins? Nope. Redyeing is not in the cards for this skein… besides, I retired this colorway! πŸ˜‰ So, I am now on the heel turn of my comfort food knitting: stockinette socks. I MAY turn out a pair for this month’s Socktopia after all. No worries, folks… I have a few other skeins planned for Monkey.

Yarny things:

I’ve dyed up a few new colorways… including this one: Georgia

That’s all you can see for now! πŸ˜‰ It will be up for sale tomorrow evening at http://www.lilypadlanding.com. If there is any left, I will put it up at the store update. Also, just for fun… a picture I love from the same round of dyeing:

Enjoy your evening, folks! A friendly reminder from your local blog addict: please update daily, and include gratuitous fiber smut. πŸ˜€

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Sarah said,

    I love the string theory! I have sooooo much undyed fiber right now it’s not funny.. though it’s probably not much in comparison to a stash meant for resale, but this is all for me, I just can’t find the time (and space!) to dye it.. mine is almost all wool.. lots of BFL (I don’t even know how much?), even more corriedale, some merino, and some targhee πŸ˜‰ You have to get some targhee top if you haven’t tried any yet.. I got mine from sweet grass wool and it’s just divine.

    Are you going to share some of the bamboo and tencel with those of us who are too afraid to order our own (and pay too much in shipping for too little fiber)? I don’t want much.. just enough to try. I only *just* spun my first silk blend, and I bought some silk hankies to dye and spin, but I’m still a little scared of those!

  2. 2

    georgia said,

    oooh, your new wheel is purty! and that BFL will look amazing spun up! i have a couple pounds of stashed fiber. i justify it because it’s way cheaper than yarn (esp. if you get it wholesale πŸ˜‰ ). so stash away!!!

    and i love that georgia yarn, of course.

  3. 3

    mel said,

    oooh, congrats on being on your way to a wheel – it is so much fun!! String Theory is absolutely gorgeous – I’m drooling over here, and your dyed yarn too, but oh those blues…. Beautiful!!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

